top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGitanjali Bhatt

Artspace Crits Notes

Updated: May 19, 2021




Things that got criticised:

  • My work is usually playful, but the statement makes it a lot more serious / brings that element down by overexplaining

  • Some people commented that the statement is forceful in the way that it tries to ‘complicate things’ by bringing in theoretical concepts and tries to justify the work / make it theoretical - Tyson afterwards said that it was natural for artists to theories their work for exhibition and try and make it sound more


New ideas that came up:

  • Ideas of ritualistic behaviour

  • Trade routes across north island - Riverhead

  • Challenging the notion of space

  • The work being read as a sketch

Things that the group picked up on from a cold reading:



My own notes on this event:

I really like how this was a great, comprehensive Crit session and that I got to understand a bit more of what the reception of the work was and what people were not getting. The cold crit was pretty much on point.


I’m glad that my statement got criticised, as I have been wondering about what kind of text best accompanies the work …or otherwise degrades it, and also how the text helps or doesn’t help audience to encounter the work in a particular way. Which is….


I'd like to elevate the funny/ humorous element in the work, maybe through a set of actions to undertake and how I make the object function in the space. Also how it work in exhibition. Tyson was mentioning ways of dramatic exhibition layouts, eg. ripping a hole in the wall and pushing the bike through that ... making a spectacle in the space.


This kind relates back to the post-crit conversation Ngahuia and I had around talking about my work simply and effectively without trying to sound overly decorative and too academic.

Imogen talked about how being in Whitecliffe / uni institution can affect how my statement is written to ‘explain’ my work in a very academic/rigid way, which is similar to what Ngahuia was saying too.


It was great to have a conversation outside of uni... It was definitely different, I felt that I was able to own my work more, as it was sitting outside of an school institution. I felt that the conversation was intelligent and eager, and I think I feel less distant from such formal and recognised spaces like Artspace Aotearoa and can understand more how they operate, and how I/my work can be involved within such a space.


It was also really great meeting the other post-grad students from Elam and AUT and spending those two days in dialogue. Making connections with people that facilitate these gatherings and conversations between artists eg. the facilitator from Audio Foundation and other people who run such organisations in the art scene. Really beneficial towards getting to know each other through this event.



Tyson's notes from crits:

Other student's works in the space with my bike work:


11 views0 comments
MFA blog
research, making, reflecting, testing
bottom of page