top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGitanjali Bhatt

Supervisor meeting, reflections:

Updated: Apr 8, 2021

Focus now towards crits, evaluate the ideas and explorations I've been doing so far. My work is on a testing ground at the moment, I'm not holding much expectation in terms of outcome but rather am exploring where this could lead the work into -- what territories and conversations it goes into regarding dialogues, around art, technological increase and construction, pseudo-scientific practice and observing landscapes. It would be helpful to reflect on and evaluate each artist/subject I research, and the practice of literature reviews will allow me to determine how ideas compel and reflect in the making, while bringing through my own stances. What is my stance on this exploration? How does my methodology reflect the research I have been studying? The idea of surveying landscape through a 'machine' that does so with much less human control than a crane or a dolly is now possible through a drone; a mechanism at the pinnacle of image-making innovations. The way my constructions differ from this is that they reject technological advancement and norms, and attempt to document landscape in ways that purposely is nonsensical and perhaps more laboured and exaggerated. The objects operate as extensions of my body through me driving it in a terrain.


On journeying: earlier this year i was thinking about extending my project though journeying into wider sites in the landscape - the larger part of the north island and eventually certain sites in NZ. However, I found that a larger focus into the wider NZ terrain will make the project about journey and seeking out sites that lie outside my locale -- whereas I want to explore construction and materials as well as documentation within the terrain. Here is a point where I need to realise what my intentions are, and what areas and ideas I want to emphasise. I think journey is important to my practice but wether this is through travelling a wider terrain or doing it through some other way -- something to think about and maybe overcome through more making/physical tests.




Crits selection:

- Bike construction

- video USB --- TV monitor

- video stills printed out

- other documentation images and items eg. notes and other objects/ records

- statement/ bullets - further notes to discuss


Video stills: bike contraption at Orewa Beach. 3/21



Video clip




- Documentation machine, camera support





Darren Glass - NZ photographer

Anna miles website

ana mendieta

et al

paul kullen

hiten patel

audio foundation - pitt st

ziggy lever



Good bye pork pie



Compelling, elective reflection text reviews


apparatus mesurement

contraptions

book presentations

psuedo scientific

Drones vs machine

making cameras

documentation machine

markmaking


Make proposals

-----------------------

watch experimental films


9 views0 comments
MFA blog
research, making, reflecting, testing
bottom of page