top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGitanjali Bhatt

'Type-thinking' - current project notes etct etc

Is it about rediscovering new places or about re-looking at landscape that has been stereotyped?


Could do both.


I mean a new place is essentially discovered through an altered perspective of a certain familiar place.


Maybe test with such two sites and see what happens with that.


The bike’s my medium for this project

I do feel like this is one project rather than an array of projects

Just an array of possible ideas streamlined through intentions and what underlaying concepts I want the work to say


Kind of provides an interesting perspective of treating these forgotten sites alongside the more grand and monumental nz places.


Places such as Hunua Falls/ranges, the Waitakere ranges, Lake Toupo, coromandel, Waiheke


I think is it important that I go out to these places - certain places

It provides a challenge for me and


It is an intermittent journey/ies I think, biking at places that are planned, internationally, but also through intuition and a casual sense of treating everything the same way.


So some places I go to can be those touristy sites, hotspot attractions and such areas, while other areas are abandoned, weedy, reminiscent of the ‘slimy,’ gutters, old rivers, bush that is in the ‘wrong place’


The bike does not discriminate


Also can do one on my ‘local bush’ just ride the bike around here ; that way when I go out and do other wider places the local becomes connected to all the other mush further places that the bike goes to.


The bike is my guideline for this project, but if I were to go on a residency elsewhere then I’d just make a different project - (what would I make) I think it would be something unexpected that I work on, probably from some sort of encounter or something that interests me in that place - I think the connecting factors to the rest of my projects probably is the idea of place.


The star rating of these places - by tourists/tour guides

5 views0 comments
MFA blog
research, making, reflecting, testing
bottom of page